The Woman in Blue

winter_time_sadness_by_ichigopaul23-d5jtwjj
Winter time sadness by ichigopaul23 via deviantart.com

 

Dressed in a cloak was this woman in blue,
She beckoned me and whispered,”Oh dear little Sue”,
“Yes milady”, I reply blushing under the summer gaze,
Her green eyes causing me a mezmerising daze,

“Do bring me the book, it is by the window,”
she said pointing with her gloved laced hand,
I dusted the soils of my frock and stood in command,
I recall that tattered book, red-leathered and old,
She never let me near it but I did as I was told,

Then I realized I was but a mere child of 8 so careless, naive, not-a-care and free,
Dismissing the absurd thought, I ran by the glistening sea,
I cross the lawn and into the house seeing the prize I seek at heart,
But before I could seize it and touch it, I awoke with a start,
Who was she and who was I, these questions still bothers me so,
I dreamt it so vividly not too long ago.

 

4 thoughts on “The Woman in Blue

  1. With your eloquence would you be interested and lend your talents to this:

    We have 100 contributions to date, and I am trying again to rope in as many contributors to the Poets for Peace challenge (in place until this the end of August). The many voices in response to this have been fantastic, and I’d love you to add yours (again, if applicable) if you can. Feel free to use an existing piece of writing or a new one asking for peace and/or about the troubled times in which we live.

    If you are interested, please leave your poem in the comments section of Neha’s bog and it will be added. https://forgottenmeadows.wordpress.com/2016/07/16/calling-all-poetscreative-minds-to-a-grand-collaboration-poets-for-peace/comment-page-5/#comment-19287

    Thank you –
    Your voice matters.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment